

Sciences Po 3rd Graduate Political Theory Conference

Keynote Speaker: Seyla Benhabib

We are happy to announce that the **Third Sciences Po Graduate Political Theory Conference** is going to take place at Sciences Po, Paris, **11-12 June, 2015**.

We welcome contributions from young political theorists across the board and intend to accommodate various approaches to political theory (analytical, historical, normative and critical). We also aim at geographic diversity, in that we shall try to foster a substantial academic dialogue between young political theorists from Europe and their peers across the world.

Seyla Benhabib (Yale University) will deliver the keynote address. The work of Seyla Benhabib covers a broad range of topics regarding feminist theory, democratic theory and critical theory. Benhabib wrote extensively on issues related to human rights, identity politics, culture and cosmopolitanism and the writings of Hannah Arendt and Jürgen Habermas. Contributions that touch upon any of these subject-matters are encouraged, but we welcome proposals on other topics as well.

Only graduate students who have not defended their PhD are eligible. Each two hourslong session of the conference will concentrate on two to three papers and will be chaired by a Sciences Po graduate student. Presentations will be followed by a Q&A session open to the public.

Breakfast, lunch and refreshments will also be provided for the duration of the conference. Unfortunately, Sciences Po will not be able to provide funds for housing and transportation.

Submission Information

Please send us:

- A detailed abstract (between 500-750 words) of your proposal in PDF format, prepared for blind review.
- A separate document, mentioning your name, the title of your proposal, and your institutional affiliation.

Please note:

- The submission deadline for proposals is February 2, 2015
- All proposals should be sent to <u>sciencespotheorygrad@gmail.com</u>
- Proposals and final papers should be written in English, which is also the working language of the graduate conference.

Selection procedure

- Political theory students from Sciences Po doctoral school will select approximately 13 proposals on a blind basis.
- The selected participants will be notified of their acceptance by April 2, 2015. All the other proposals will be acknowledged.

Selection committee: Amélie Ferey, Marianne Fougère, Yoel Mitrani, Margaux Ledonne, Maurits de Jongh, Valentin Schmite, Emilien Fargues, Tom Theuns.

For any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at: <u>sciencespotheorygrad@gmail.com</u>

For further information on other activities and events organized by the Political Theory Program at Sciences Po, please visit (and like) our **facebook page**: <u>Sciences</u> <u>Po, Paris - Théorie Politique</u>