Workshop on inner speech: philosophical and psychological questions

May 28 - May 30, 2025

Venue

Osnabrück University Bohnenkamphaus (Botanical Garden; Albrechtstrasse 29, 49076 Osnabrück)

Organizers

Nikola Kompa (Osnabrück University) & Christopher Gauker (Paris Lodron University Salzburg). Funded by the DFG & the FWF

Schedule

May 28

- 10:30-10:45: Welcome and introduction by Chris Gauker & Nikola Kompa
- 10:45-12:15: Jutta Mueller (University of Vienna):

Working memory and prediction as a potential window into the neural mechanisms supporting inner speech

- 12:15-14:00: *Lunch* (at the Bohnenkamphaus)
- 14:00-16:00: **Poster session** (7 posters)
- 16:00-16:30: *Coffee break*
- 16.30-18:00 Gary Lupyan (University of Wisconsin): The consequences of individual differences in inner speech
 19:00: Dinner & Night Walk

May 29

09:00-10:30: **Daniel Gregory** (University of Salzburg): Some properties that inner speech doesn't have

10:30-10:45: Coffee break

10:45-12:15: Hélène Lœvenbruck (Université Grenoble Alpes):Investigating the orthogonality of intention, agency, and control in inner speech

- 12:30-14:00: *Lunch* (at the Bohnenkamphaus)
- 14:00-15:30:Marta Jorba (Pompeu Fabra University):Inner speech and emotion regulation
- 15:30-16:00: Coffee break
- 16:00-17:30: Wade Munroe (University of Nebraska): Inner speech and natural language as a language of thought
 19:00: Conference dinner

May 30

- 09:00-10:30: Sharon Geva (Anglia Ruskin University): What do we really measure when we measure inner speech?
- 10:30-10:45: Coffee break
- 10:45-12:15: Agustín Vicente (University of the Basque Country): Speech productions models: consequences for inner speech
- 12:30-14:00: *Lunch* (at the Mensa)
- 14:00-15:30: **Peter Langland-Hassan** (University of Cincinnati): There are no words: the simulative view of inner speech
- 15:30-16:00: Coffee break
- 16:00-17:00: Wrapping up (open questions, new projects, etc...)
- 19:00: *Dinner*

Posters by

Mathijs Geurts	(Paris Lodron University Salzburg)
Jonida Kodra	(Osnabrück University)
Daniel Müller	(Osnabrück University)
Miguel Angel Prieto Castellanos	(Osnabrück University)
Viktoria Groiß	(University of Vienna)
Priscila Borges	(University of Vienna)
Daphne Bernués	(Pompeu Fabra University)