Indiana Philosophical Association 2021 Spring Meeting



Meeting Program

Friday, April 9

9:00-9:15	Welcome and Opening Remarks	
9:15-10:15	Keynote: Frances Moore Lappé	
10:15-10:30	Transition to Individual Society Sessions	
	Session 1: History of Philosophy Chair: TBD	Session 2: Continental Philosophy Chair: TBD
10:30-11:15 Speaker: Commentator:	"Positive Duties, Kant's Universalizability Tests, and Contradictions" Samuel Kahn (IUPUI) Alexander Buchinski (IU Bloomington)	"The Problem with Identity in Theories of Subjection: Deleuze in Dialogue with Harris" Matthew Church (Purdue University) Duncan Cordry (Purdue University)
11:15-12:00 Speaker: Commentator:	"Descartes on Curiosity" Christopher A. Bobier (Saint Mary's University of Minnesota) TBD	"A Tenable Theory of the Sublime" Hyo Won Seo (Kent State University) Elise Frketich (Purdue University)
12:00-1:15	IPA Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony	
1:30-3:00	IPA Keynote Address Stuart Glennan Harry T. Ice Professor of Philosophy, Butler University "What shall we say caused the Capitol insurrection? Some remarks on how to select a causal explanation"	
3:00-3:15	Afternoon Break	
	Session 3: Political Thought Chair: TBD	Session 4: Session on Ethics Chair: TBD
3:15-4:00 Speaker:	"Exposure and Place: Michel Foucault's Ethics as Environmental Ethics" Strand Sheldahl-Thomason (Purdue University Fort Wayne)	"The Role of Intuition in Frankfurt-Style Arguments on Moral Responsibility" Joseph A. Kranak (Wilbur Wright College)
Commentator:	Chris Davidson (Ball State University)	Kenneth Shields (University of Indianapolis)
4:00-4:45 Speaker:	"Meta-ontology as Normative Sociology" Patrick Rardin (Appalachian State	"What Is 'Virtue Signaling,' & What Makes It Wrong?" Samuel C. Bennett (Purdue University)
Commentator:	University) James Andrew Smith (Depauw University)	Leigh Viner (IU Southeast)

Indiana Philosophical Association Spring Meeting 2021



Meeting Program

Saturday, April 10

9:00-9:15	2 nd Day Welcome and Remarks	
9:15-10:15	Keynote: Professor David Oxtoby	
10:15-10:30	Transition to Individual Society Sessions	
	Session 5: Session on Logic Chair: TBD	Session 6: Moral Philosophy Chair: TBD
10:30-11:15	"A New Way to Justify the Neo- Russellian Critique of the Notion of Cause"	"The Property Box Account of Slurs"
Speaker: Commentator:	Chen Yang (Purdue University) Bradley Griggs (University of Cinncinatti)	Louise Williams (University of Notre Dame) Joseph Long (Butler University)
11:15-12:00	"Five Modal Conditions on Justified Suspended Judgment"	"Grounding moral error within a scientific context"
Speaker:	Peter Murphy (University of Indianapolis)	Mark Herman (Arkansas State University)
Commentator:	Jared Bates (Hanover College)	Joseph Gamache (Marian University)
12:00-1:15	Lunch Break	
1:15-1:30	Transition to Individual Society Sessions	
	Session 7: Continental Philosophy Chair: Kevin Harrelson (Ball State)	Session 8: Special Undergraduate Papers Chair: TBD
1:30-2:15	"A Non-Idealist Reading of Nietzsche's Perspectivism"	"In Defense of Storytelling"—Winner of the 2021 IPA Undergraduate Paper Prize
Speaker: Commentator:	James Mollison (Purdue University) Kevin Miles (Earlham College)	Benjamin Brock (Ball State University) Emily Fuher (Ball State University)
2:15-3:00		"Death Anxiety as a Human Condition"—IPA Undergraduate Paper Prize First Runner-Up
Speaker: Commentator:		Amanda Galloway Andrew Freck (Wabash College)
3:00-3:15	Transition to Final Conference Event	
3:15-4:45	Cross-Disciplinary Panel Discussion Moderators: Dr. Michella Marino, Ms. Joan Trendell Pannelists: Ms. Pan Pantones, State Deputy Health Commissioner Mr. Jim Shella, TV personality, author, commentator Ms. Charlotte Hawthorne, Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Eli Lilly Dr. Tabra Jackson, Dean of Education, IUPUI	
4:45-5:00	Closing Remarks	