CFP: Indiana Philosophical Association - Joint Meeting with the Kentucky Philosophical Association

Submission deadline: January 31, 2023

Conference date(s):
March 31, 2023 - April 1, 2023

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Brescia University
Owensboro, United States

Topic areas


Joint Meeting of the Kentucky Philosophical Association and the Indiana Philosophical Association

Friday, March 31st to Saturday, April 1st, 2023

Brescia University

Owensboro, Kentucky

Keynote: "Dethroning Aquinas," Dr. Richard Cross, University of Notre Dame

For this meeting, we invite submissions in any area of philosophy. Submitted papers should be (i) no more than 3000 words, (ii) prepared for anonymous review, and (iii) accompanied by a separate page that includes title, author information (name, affiliation, and contact information), and an abstract not exceeding 150 words. We especially encourage submissions from individuals who identify as members of groups currently underrepresented in philosophy and academia more generally.

Deadline for submissions is January 31, 2023 (11:59 pm EST).

Decisions will be sent out no later than February 28, 2023.

Submissions should be sent to Joseph Gamache ([email protected]).

Paper Prizes

The IPA will present two paper prizes: (1) an undergraduate paper prize and (2) the David McCarty Prize in Logic. Each award includes a cash prize of $100.

The objective of the undergraduate prize is to encourage and to recognize, at the undergraduate level in Indiana’s colleges and universities, philosophical research and writing of the highest quality. Papers in any area of philosophical inquiry are welcome. To be eligible, an author must currently be an undergraduate student, registered full-time during Spring 2023, at a college or university in Indiana, but need not be majoring in philosophy. Submissions must be sponsored and sent to us by a faculty member at the author’s home institution. That faculty member should, as an attachment to the submission, attest to the author’s eligibility. Submission guidelines are the same as with any submission to this CfP (see above), with the addition that undergraduate submissions must be identified as such on the title page. The prize-winning author will have the opportunity to present at the Spring 2023 joint meeting with the KPA.

The David McCarty Prize in Logic is awarded in honor of David McCarty in recognition of outstanding work in logic or the philosophy of mathematics.

Please send submissions either to the Kentucky Philosophical Association, or the Indiana Philosophical Association, but not both.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)