Philosophy of AI (PhAI) 2023

December 15, 2023 - December 16, 2023
Centre for Philosophy & Artificial Intelligence Research, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Conference Centre
Bohlenplatz 1
Erlangen 91054

View the Call For Papers


  • Alexander von Humboldt Foundation


Hertie School
University of Hong Kong
Cambridge University
Ludwig Maximilians Universität, München


University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg
Vrije University
Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Topic areas

Talks at this conference

Add a talk



5th Conference on "Philosophy of Artificial Intelligence" Erlangen 15-16 December 2023

(Previous conferences: Thessaloniki 2011, Oxford 2013, Leeds 2017, Gothenburg 2021)


Vincent C. Müller, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

Centre for Philosophy and AI Research (PAIR) @ FAU: Elke Bennewitz, Aliya R. Dewey, Leonard Dung, Guido Löhr


Conference Centre Kreuz+Quer, Bohlenplatz 1, 91054 Erlangen, Germany. +49-9131-9409323, [email protected]


32 papers and 32 posters have been accepted. For the complete programme, please see:


Accepted papers and posters will be published in a volume of proceedings (likely in Springer's SAPERE series or the Synthese series). Upload to a freely accessible place is encouraged (e.g., PhilPapers).

Papers from previous conferences have been downloaded over 350,000 times from the publishers alone:

2011: 'Minds and Machines' & SAPERE series

2013: Synthese series

2017: SAPERE series

2021: SAPERE series


Philosophy of AI, including ethics of AI. In particular, this includes any philosophical work that aims to (a) understand the limits and potential of AI, (b) understand the opportunities and risks for AI in human interactions, (c) use AI to better understand natural intelligences (e.g., human and non-human animals), and (d) use AI as examples and methods in the sciences (e.g., cognitive science) and other areas of philosophy (e.g., philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, epistemology, ethics).

Programme Committee

Darren Abramson, Dalhousie University

Mark Addis, Open University

Anthony Beavers, University of Evansville

Marcel Becker, Radboud University Nijmegen

Istvan Berkeley, The University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Jan Broersen, Utrecht University

Céline Budding, Eindhoven University of Technology

Michael Cannon, Eindhoven University of Technology

Herman Cappelen, University of Hong Kong

Massimiliano Cappuccio, University of New South Wales

Robert Clowes, Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Michael Cohen, UC Berkeley

Matteo Colombo, Tilburg University

Aliya R Dewey, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Eric Dietrich, Binghamton University

Gordana Dodig Crnkovic, Chalmers University of Technology

Leonard Dung, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Alexandre Erler, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

Gerhard Ernst, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

Lydia Farina, University of Nottingham

Peter Fazekas, University of Antwerp

Sascha Benjamin Fink, Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg

Cindy Friedman, Utrecht University

David Gamez, Middlesex University

Hajo Greif, Warsaw University of Technology

Marcello Guarini, University of Windsor

Olle Häggström, Chalmers University of Technology

Marta Halina, University of Cambridge

Jan Heinrichs, Forschungszentrum Jülich

Nora Heinzelmann, University of Erlangen

Michael Jungert, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

Kaisa Kärki, University of Helsinki

Maximilian Kiener, University of Oxford

Christian Kietzmann, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Peter Königs, TU Dortmund

Martha Kunicki, HU Berlin

Rosario La Sala, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Guido Löhr, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Björn Lundgren, Utrecht University

Holger Lyre, University of Magdeburg

Jocelyn Maclure, McGill University

Lorenzo Magnani, University of Pavia, Italy

Nikhil Mahant, Central European University

Erasmus Mayr, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg

Christoph Merdes, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

Marcin Miłkowski, Polish Academy of Sciences

Diego Hernán Morales Pérez, Eindhoven University of Technology (TU/e)

Vincent C. Müller, FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg

Luise Müller, Freie Universität Berlin

Maximilian Noichl, University of Vienna

Sven R. Nyholm, LMU Munich

Elizabeth O'Neill, University of Pittsburgh

Gualtiero Piccinini, University of Missouri - St. Louis

Roberto Redaelli, University of Milan

Ian Robertson, University of Erlangen-Nurenberg

Viola Schiaffonati, Politecnico di Milano

Lisa Schmalzried, Universität Hamburg

Wolfgang M. Schroeder, University of Wuerzburg

Oron Shagrir, Hebrew University

Timo Speith, Universität Bayreuth

Sebastian Sunday Grève, Peking University

Marco Tamborini, TU Darmstadt

Alberto Termine, University of Milan

Elliott Thornley, University of Oxford

Daniel Tigard, University of San Diego

Fabio Tollon, University of Edinburgh

Charlotte Franziska Unruh, University of Oxford

Jordi Vallverdú, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona

Gottfried Vosgerau, Heinrich-Heine Universität Düsseldorf

Minkyung Wang, Munich Center for Mathematical Philosophy

Jiri Wiedermann, Academy of Sciences

Hannes Worthmann, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

Carlos Zednik, Eindhoven University of Technology

Annette Zimmermann, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)




December 12, 2023, 9:00am CET

External Site

Who is attending?

No one has said they will attend yet.

1 person may be attending:

National Autonomous University of Mexico

See all

Will you attend this event?

Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.

RSVPing on PhilEvents is not sufficient to register for this event.