CFP: Formal Ethics 2024

Submission deadline: March 1, 2024

Conference date(s):
July 15, 2024 - July 17, 2024

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Alfried Krupp Wissenschaftskolleg Greifswald
Greifswald, Germany

Topic areas



“Formal Ethics” is a common denominator for the application of tools from logic, decision theory, game theory, and social choice theory to the analysis of concepts and theories in moral and political philosophy. It is a rapidly growing field of research that goes back to the work of Kenneth Arrow, Amartya Sen, John Harsanyi, Georg Henrik von Wright, and others. The field has recently gained new impetus with formal work on freedom and responsibility, welfare economics and population ethics, deontic logic and natural language semantics, value theory, and the evolution of norms and conventions.

Previous editions of this conference series were held at the University of Groningen (2010), the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (2012), Erasmus University Rotterdam (2014), University of Bayreuth (2015), University of York (2017), Ghent University (2019), and Vanderbilt University (2022).

Call for Papers

Formal Ethics 2024 will feature a single track for contributed talks of 40-45 minutes. Authors should submit an extended abstract (1000 words max, pdf format) via

by 1 March 2024. Notifications of acceptance will be sent by 15 April 2024.

Submissions in all areas of formal ethics, broadly construed, are welcome. Contributions need not be formal in nature but should show familiarity with applying formal tools and results to ethical investigations.We welcome and strongly encourage submissions from members of underrepresented groups, as well as early career researchers and students.

All submissions should be prepared for anonymous review.

Important Dates

Deadline for submissions: 1 March 2024

Notification of acceptance: 15 April 2024

Conference: 15-17 July 2024


Local Organizer and Chair of the Program Committee:

Allard Tamminga (University of Greifswald).

Program Committee:

Justin Bruner (Unversity at Buffalo), Ilaria Canavotto (University of Maryland), Fabrizio Cariani (University of Maryland), Hun Chung (Waseda University), Sahar Heydari Fard (Ohio State University), Martin van Hees (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Conrad Heilmann (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Iwao Hirose (McGill University), Paul McNamara (University of New Hampshire), Marcus Pivato (Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne), Hannah Rubin (University of Missouri), Itai Sher (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Vlasta Sikimić (Eindhoven University of Technology), Kai Spiekermann (London School of Economics), Katie Steele (Australian National University), and Johanna Thoma (University of Bayreuth).

Steering Committee:

Constanze Binder (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Conrad Heilmann (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Paul McNamara (University of New Hampshire), Olivier Roy (University of Bayreuth), Hannah Rubin (University of Missouri) and Johanna Thoma (University of Bayreuth).

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)