Fifth PhilInBioMed Network Meeting

September 30, 2024 - October 2, 2024
Philosophy Department, Bielefeld University

Center for Interdisciplinary Research (ZiF)
Methoden 1
Bielefeld 33729

This will be an accessible event, including organized related activities

View the Call For Papers


  • Center for Interdisciplinary Research (ZiF)


Bielefeld University
Université de Bordeaux
Bielefeld University
CNRS & University Of Bordeaux

Topic areas

Talks at this conference

Add a talk


The fifth Philosophy in Biology and Medicine (PhilInBioMed) Network Meeting will take place in-person in Bielefeld, Germany, on Sep 30-Oct 2, 2024, at Bielefeld University’s Institute for Advanced Study, the ZiF.

Keynote speakers:

Keynote duo 1:

  • Sabine Oertelt-Prigione (Medicine, U Bielefeld & U Nijmegen)
  • Kirsten Borgerson (Philosophy, U Dalhousie)

Keynote duo 2:

  • Paul Rainey (Evolutionary Biology, MPI Plön)
  • Samir Okasha (Philosophy, U Bristol)

Keynote duo 3:

  • Caroline Müller (Chemical Ecology, U Bielefeld)
  • Marie I. Kaiser (Philosophy, U Bielefeld)

The program committee welcomes abstracts for contributed talks (20+10 min Q&A) by scientists and/or philosophers, on work which combines biological or medical science with a conceptual, theoretical, and/or philosophical approach.

Each abstract must clearly address these three questions:

  •     What is the scientific problem that your talk raises?
  •     What kind of philosophical tools does your talk use to address that scientific problem?
  •     What proposal does your talk make as a response to that scientific problem?

Scientific relevance will be an essential criterion. Talks that result from collaboration among philosophers and scientists are particularly welcome. We welcome submissions from individuals identifying with historically underrepresented groups within philosophy of science and medicine.

The deadline for submission of abstracts is April, 5th, 2024.

Abstracts should be 500 words max. Authors must remove all identifying information from their title and abstract. Please submit your abstract using the following link:

The program committee aims to inform the authors of the outcome of their submission by mid-May 2024.

Program Committee

  •     Lara Keuck (University of Bielefeld, Co-Chair)
  •     Thomas Pradeu (CNRS, Co-Chair)
  •     Hanne Andersen (University of Copenhagen)
  •     Virginie Courtier-Orgogozo (Institut Jacques Monod, Paris)
  •     Martin Dresler (Donders Institute, Nijmegen)
  •     Gérard Eberl (Pasteur Institute, Paris)
  •     Alkistis Elliott-Graves (University of Bielefeld)
  •     Steven Frank (University of California, Irvine)
  •     Fridolin Gross (University of Bordeaux)
  •     Matt Haber (University of Utah)
  •     Katrin Hammerschmidt (University of Kiel)
  •     Eva Jablonka (Tel Aviv University)
  •     Marie Kaiser (University of Bielefeld)
  •     Lucie Laplane (University of Paris, Gustave Roussy)
  •     Maël Lemoine (University of Bordeaux)
  •     Sabina Leonelli (University of Exeter)
  •     Kate MacCord (Arizona State University)
  •     Angela Potochnik (University of Cincinnati)
  •     David Raubenheimer (University of Sydney)
  •     David Redish (University of Minnesota)
  •     Samuel Scheiner (NSF)
  •     Günter Wagner (Yale University)
  •     Jon Williamson (University of Kent)

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)




Who is attending?

No one has said they will attend yet.

Will you attend this event?

Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.