CFP: Graduate Conference in Theoretical Philosophy 2014

Submission deadline: February 1, 2014

Conference date(s):
May 26, 2014 - May 28, 2014

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

VU University Amsterdam
Amsterdam, Netherlands

Topic areas


The Graduate Conference in Theoretical Philosophy invites graduate students working in theoretical philosophy to present and discuss their research with fellow graduate students and experienced philosophers.

We are very pleased to announce our keynote speakers:

Alva Noë (Berkeley)

Elizabeth Barnes (Leeds)

Hanne Andersen (Aarhus)

Igor Douven (Groningen)

Graduate students from in and outside the Netherlands (including those graduated in the past three years) are encouraged to submit abstracts for presentation of completed or ongoing work (20' talk plus 10' discussion). Abstracts should be max. 500 words and prepared for blind review. One file should contain your abstract, the title of your presentation and the field of philosophy into which it belongs (e.g. epistemology, philosophy of mind / science / religion / language, logic, metaphysics). The other file should include your name, affiliation and email address. Please send both documents in PDF to

Deadline abstract submission: 1 February 2014
Notifications of acceptance: 12 March 2014

Finally: this is a low-fee conference thanks to support by the Dutch Research School for Philosophy (OZSW) and the Faculty of Philosophy of the VU University Amsterdam. Last year's edition was a big success (, and we are looking forward to the sequel!

The conference organizers:

Lieke Asma, Naomi Kloosterboer, Henk de Regt, Jeroen de Ridder, Scott Robbins, Joëlle van der Steen, Hans Van Eyghen, Jan Willem Wieland, René van Woudenberg, Marije Zeldenrijk

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)