2nd Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Group in India

December 19, 2015 - December 21, 2015
Centre for Science, Technology and Society, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai

Opposite the Deonar Bus Depot, V N Purav Marg
Mumbai 400088

View the Call For Papers


Richard Boyd
Cornell University
Anjan Chakravartty
University of Notre Dame
Amita Chatterjee
Jadavpur University
Harold Kincaid
University of Cape Town
Uskali Mäki
University of Helsinki
Dhruv Raina
Jawaharlal Nehru University
Federica Russo
University of Amsterdam
Sarotra Sarkar
University of Texas at Austin

Topic areas

Talks at this conference

Add a talk


Purpose of Conference

The philosophy of science, while a relatively new topic of study in the long span of philosophical inquiry, has come to occupy a central place in the discipline. Besides addressing traditional epistemological, metaphysical and ethical questions as applied to the practice of science, contemporary philosophers of science engage fruitfully with foundational questions that arise within particular scientific theories, blurring the artificial boundaries between philosophy and science. As a consequence, the field offers great potential for interdisciplinary interaction between philosophers and scientists, leading to clearer analyses of difficult scientific concepts and the application of new scientific discoveries to traditional philosophical questions.

Despite the importance and dynamism of the field internationally, philosophy of science remains a nascent discipline in India. The community of researchers is small, and students often feel unprepared to tackle a subject that requires knowledge not only of philosophy but also of science. The philosophy of science group was formed with the intention of overcoming these obstacles – to encourage young scholars to conduct high-quality research in the philosophy of science, and to provide a space for the existing philosophy of science community to collaborate and exchange ideas.

Submission Timetable:

Deadline for Submission: August 31, 2015.

Notification of Acceptance: September 30, 2015.

Organizing committee

T. Jayaraman­– Co-chair (Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India)

Bijoy Mukherjee – Co-chair (Visva-Bharati, Shantiniketan, India)

Prasanta Bandyopadhyay (Montana State University, Bozeman, MT, USA)

Prajit Basu (University of Hyderabad, India)

Manjari Chakraborty (Visva-Bharati, Shantiniketan, India)

Amita Chatterjee (Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India)

Sreekuamar Jayadevan (Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur, India)

Stephen Jayard (Jnana-Deepa Vidyapeeth, Pune, India)

Priyedarshi Jetli (Mumbai, India)

Philose Koshy (Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India)

Tarun Menon (Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, India)

Smita Sirker (Jadavpur University, Kolkata, India)

Further Inquiries:

[email protected]

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)




Who is attending?

No one has said they will attend yet.

Will you attend this event?

Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.