CFP: Metaphysics of Space, Time, and Spacetime University of Sassari 5-6 July 2016

Submission deadline: March 1, 2016

Conference date(s):
July 5, 2016 - July 6, 2016

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Department of Architecture, Design and Urban Planning (DADU), University of Sassari
Alghero, Italy

Topic areas


Keynote Speakers:

David Braddon-Mitchell (University of Sydney)

Kristie Miller (University of Sydney)

Jonathan Tallant (University of Nottingham)

Giuliano Torrengo (University of Milan)

 Achille C. Varzi (Columbia University)

We welcome contributions on any topic related to metaphysics of space, time and spacetime, including (but not restricted to) the following:

- Mereology;

- Topology;

- Material Constitution;

- Location, Coincidence, Multi-Location;

- Persistence;

- Openness of the Future;

- Time-Travel;

- A-theory and B-theory of Time;

- Substantivalism vs Relationalism

- The Metaphysics of History and Geography, with attention to applications, e.g. ontology of GIS;

Submissions Guidelines:

We only accept submissions from current students and recent graduates from MA and PhD programs who received their degree in 2015 or 2016. Please send abstracts between 400-600 words (including 3-5 keywords) in a suitable form for blind review. Attached to the same e-mail please include a separate cover page with the title of the paper, your name, affiliation, academic position, contact details. Please send files either in .PDF or in .WORD format before 1st March 2016, at [email protected]

Contributions should be suitable for 30 minutes presentation, followed by 15 minutes discussion.

The conference will be held in English.

There is no conference registration fee. We cannot cover travel or accommodation costs, but we will make agreements with local restaurants and hotels for all accepted participants.

Alghero is located in the island of Sardinia and is easily reachable by low-cost flight companies from all over Europe.


Progetto PRIN 2012 “Modelli e inferenze nella scienza” Unità di Ricerca dell’Università di Sassari;

CPT Center for Philosophy of Time ( 

Under the auspices of: Department of Architecture, Design and Urban Planning University of Sassari (DADU), Doctoral School in Philosophy and Human Sciences University of Milan, Laboratorio di Epistemologia Applicata (LEA), SIFA (Società Italiana di Filosofia Analitica).

Scientific Committee: Fabio Bacchini (University of Sassari), Andrea Borghini (Holy Cross), David Braddon-Mitchell (University of Sydney), Claudio Calosi (University of Neuchatel), Stefano Caputo (University of Sassari), Elena Casetta (University of Lisbon), Massimo Dell’Utri (University of Sassari), Maureen Donnelly (Buffalo University), Kristie Miller (University of Sydney), Jonathan Tallant (University of Nottingham), Giuliano Torrengo (University of Milan), Achille C. Varzi (Columbia University). 

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)