Set Theoretic Pluralism Network Symposium 1

July 12, 2016 - July 17, 2016
Set Theoretic Pluralism network at the School of Divinity, History and Philosophy, University of Aberdeen

Meeting Room 1, 7th floor
Sir Duncan Rice Library
Aberdeen AB24 3AA
United Kingdom


  • University of Bristol
  • University of California, Irvine
  • Harvard University
  • University of Helsinki
  • University of Vienna

All speakers:

Joan Bagaría
Universitat de Barcelona
John Baldwin
University of Illinois, Chicago
Justin Clarke-Doane
Columbia University
Joel David Hamkins
City University of New York
University of Helsinki
Øystein Linnebo
University of Oslo
Toby Meadows
University of Aberdeen
Jonas Reitz
City University of New York
Colin J. Rittberg
University of Hertfordshire
Fenner Tanswell
University of St Andrews
Jouko Väänänen
University of Helsinki


Benedict Eastaugh
University of Aberdeen
Toby Meadows
University of Aberdeen

Topic areas

Talks at this conference

Add a talk


The Set Theoretic Pluralism (STP) network will be running its first symposium in July 2016. We would like to invite researchers from all relevant disciplines to attend the symposium, including set theory, philosophy of mathematics, metaphysics, philosophy of language, and epistemology. The symposium will take place over six days, from Tuesday 11 to Sunday 17 July, 2016, on the campus of the University of Aberdeen, Scotland.

The STP network draws together experts in mathematics and philosophy to grapple with the increasingly popular idea that mathematical reality may be best understood as fractured and indeterminate. Amongst the participants at the first STP symposium are Joan Bagaria (ICREA, Barcelona), Joel David Hamkins (CUNY/NYU), Juliette Kennedy (Helskinki), Øystein Linnebo (Oslo), Jouko Väänänen (Helsinki), Robbie William (Leeds), Crispin Wright (NYU/Stirling), Justin Clarke-Doane (Columbia), Jonas Reitz (CUNY), Toby Meadows (Aberdeen), John Baldwin (University of Illinois, Chicago), Fenner Tanswell (University of St Andrews), and Colin Rittberg (Vrije Universiteit Brussel).

The STP network is funded by a Leverhulme International Network grant and is hosted at the University of Aberdeen. The STP network partners include the University of Aberdeen, Harvard University, the University of Bristol, the University of Vienna, the University of Helsinki, and the University of California, Irvine. For more details of the network’s context and aims, please refer to the network website.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)




June 30, 2016, 11:45pm EET

External Site

Who is attending?

1 person is attending:

Ludwig Maximilians Universität, München

See all

Will you attend this event?

Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.

RSVPing on PhilEvents is not sufficient to register for this event.

Custom tags:

#Philosophy of set theory, #Set-theoretic pluralism