CFP: How Much Philosophy in the Philosophy of Science?

Submission deadline: September 30, 2012

Conference date(s):
March 11, 2013 - March 14, 2013

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Leibniz Universität Hannover
Hannover, Germany

Topic areas


In September 2011 the German Society for Philosophy of Science (Gesellschaft für Wissenschaftsphilosophie – GWP) was founded with the aim to better integrate the community of philosophers of science and scientists interested in philosophy of science in Germany and thereby to promote the field at a local as well as an international level. The GWP aims to organize an international conference every three years. The first conference will take place in Hannover with the overarching theme "How much philosophy in the philosophy of science?" (See for aims and scope of the conference.)

We welcome proposals for individual papers (30 min plus 15 min discussion) or symposia (3 speakers in a total 2-hour session). Graduate students are especially encouraged to submit proposals for either individual papers or symposia. All submissions will be subjected to a blind refereeing procedure. Proposals for papers should include the title and abstract (up to 500 words), but no personal information. Please attach a second file with your name, affiliation, contact details, and the title of the submitted paper. Symposia proposals should include the symposium title, a description of the symposium’s rationale (up to 500 words) and for each of the 3 speakers the title and abstract (up to 500 words), but no names. Please attach a second file with names, affiliations, contact details of the symposium organizers and speakers, and the title of the proposed symposium. If your paper/symposium addresses the overarching conference theme, please indicate this in the attached file where names etc. are specified. If you or (one or more of) the speakers in your symposium are graduate students, please indicate this, too.

For submission via EasyChair see:

The deadline for all submissions is: 30 September 2012.

Organization: Paul Hoyningen-Huene, Dietmar Hübner, Meinard Kuhlmann, Holger Lyre, Thomas Reydon, Torsten Wilholt

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)