CFP: 71st Annual Meeting of the New Mexico Texas Philosophical Society

Submission deadline: December 1, 2019

Conference date(s):
April 3, 2020 - April 4, 2020

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Baylor University
Waco, United States

Topic areas


We invite papers on any philosophical topic in English or Spanish for the annual conference of the New Mexico – Texas Philosophical Society to be held in San Antonio, Texas. Papers ought not exceed 3,000 words (excluding footnotes and references) and are to be presentable within 25 minutes. Complete papers are required; abstracts will not be accepted. There will be commentaries on each paper, and authors of accepted papers are invited to comment on other papers. Papers that have been previously published (or are forthcoming for publication) are not eligible for submission. Each paper should be prepared for anonymous review and submitted electronically to the following website by December 1, 2019.

When you submit your paper, please select the topic category that best fits your paper topic: Core Analytic, American Pragmatism, Continental Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Value, or Other.

Southwest Philosophical Studies Journal

The New Mexico – Texas Philosophical Society has a longstanding tradition of publishing outstanding contributions in its journal, Southwest Philosophical Studies. Submissions will be automatically considered for publication, unless otherwise indicated in the submission process. Journal editorial practices will enforce a limit of 3,000 words and endnotes in MLA format.


Submissions may be eligible for the following awards. Authors of accepted papers will be asked to indicate if they are graduate students or recent PhDs in order to determine eligibility for the Alexander award.

(1) Hubert Griggs Alexander Memorial Award for an excellent paper by a graduate student or recent PhD (within the last three years) on any topic. Award recipient will receive a $100.00 prize and publication in Southwest PhilosophicalStudies;

(2)  Glenn C. Joy Awards for the three best submissions by a philosopher at any career level on any topic. First prize is $750, second prize is $250, and third prize is $100. All Genn C. Joy awarded papers will be published in Southwest Philosophical Studies.

Conference Location and Hotel Information

The conference will be hosted at Baylor University. More information about hotel options and rates will be provided as soon as it is available. For the most up-to-date information about the conference and hotel arrangements, please visit

Registration and Fees

Conference registration fees should arrange for payment to be forwarded to the Treasurer before March 20, 2020. Conference participants may pay the registration fee via a link to, which will be available on the Society’s website, after submissions have been accepted. Check or cash only accepted at the conference. Payments made at the conference will only be accepted from the hours of 9am-12noon, on either Friday April 3rdor Saturday, April 4th. Payments made at the conference will receive a $20.00 surcharge.

Full-time professors                       $70.00

Part-time/adjunct professors          $45.00

Graduate Students                         $35.00

Undergraduate/retired persons        $25.00

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)