CFP: American Society for Aesthetics - Eastern Division

Submission deadline: January 15, 2020

Conference date(s):
April 17, 2020 - April 18, 2020

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

American Society for Aesthetics
Philadelphia, United States

Topic areas


Call for Papers
American Society for Aesthetics, Eastern Division Meeting

Philadelphia, PA April 17-18, 2020

Submission deadline: January 15th, 2020

We are looking forward to a third year in our new venue, the Courtyard Marriott in Center City Philadelphia.

Plenary LectureSandra Lynn Shapshay, Professor of Philosophy at Hunter College (CUNY)

Temple University’s Beardsley LectureRichard Eldridge, Charles and Harriett Cox McDowell Professor of Philosophy at Swarthmore College.

Papers on any topic in aesthetics are invited, as well as proposals for panels, author-meets-critics, or other special sessions. Papers and proposals from traditionally underrepresented groups (including women, racial minorities, and persons with disabilities, among others) are encouraged. We welcome volunteers to serve as session chairs and commentators. To submit a paper or a panel proposal for consideration you must be a member of the American Society for Aesthetics, and if your paper is accepted you must register for the conference. You can join ASA online: Papers should not exceed 3,000 words, should be accompanied by a 100-word abstract, and must be prepared for anonymous review. Panel proposals must include a general description of the topic or theme, the names and affiliations of all proposed participants, and a long abstract (approximately 1000 words) for each of the presentations. The abstract should articulate the thesis and central argument(s) of the talk.

$1000 will be available for Irene H. Chayes Travel grants, from the American Society for Aesthetics, for papers presenters with no other access to travel funds. To apply, notify the organizers that you wish to be considered, and estimate your travel costs. Do not include this in your paper.

Please send submission in PDF, Word, or RTF format to Laura Di Summa, Michel-Antoine Xhignesse, and Javier Gomez-Lavin at

Please feel free to direct questions to the Program Co-Chairs: Michel-Antoine Xhignesse (Capilano), or Laura Di Summa (William Paterson), or Javier Gomez-Lavin (University of Pennsylvania)

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)