Submission deadline: March 15, 2020

Conference date(s):
August 9, 2020 - August 15, 2020

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Austrian Ludwig Wittgenstein Society
Kirchberg am Wechsel, Austria

Topic areas


The aim of this symposium is to bring together two main groups of scholars and students: The one group are scholars focussed on making sense of and interpreting Plato’s works. The other group consists of scholars working in diverse fields that can be called “Platonism”. Platonism can be understood either historically as a return to Plato’s thought (e.g., Neoplatonism or Cambridge Platonism) or systematically as a historical or contemporary doctrine subscribing to objective timeless entities (propositions, meanings, numbers, sets, truth values etc.).


1.    Wittgenstein
2.    Metaphysics – Forms and abstract objects
3.    Philosophy of language – Forms and meanings
4.    Political philosophy – Forms and social hierarchies
5.    Logic and mathematics – Forms and abstract structures
6.    Postmodernism and deconstruction – Forms and formations


- Plato’s dialogues organised by Vasilis Politis (Dublin)
- Digital Wittgenstein organised by Sebastian Sunday Grève (Beijing) & Desiree Weber (Wooster)


Mark Balaguer (Los Angeles)
Alexander Becker (Marburg)
Alfred Dunshirn (Vienna)
Andreas Eckl (Bonn)
Katharina Felka (Graz)
Niklas Forsberg (Pardubice)
Dorothea Frede (Hamburg)
Volker Gadenne (Linz)
Stephen Gersh (Princeton)
Lloyd Gerson (Toronto)
Hans-Johann Glock (Zurich)
Andrew Gregory (London)
Nora Hämäläinen (Pardubice)
Christoph Horn (Bonn)
John Hyman (London)
Jakub Jinek (Pardubice)
James Klagge (Virginia)
Aikaterini Lefka (Liège)
Béatrice Lienemann (Erlangen-Nuremberg)
Øystein Linnebo (Oslo)
Paul Livingston (Albuquerque)
Kamila Pacovská (Pardubice)
Luigi Perissinotto (Venice)
Vasilis Politis (Dublin)
Begoña Ramón Cámara (Madrid)
Tom Rockmore (Beijing)
Catherine Rowett (Norwich)
Mauro Senatore (Santiago de Chile)
Chryssi Sidiropoulou (Istanbul)
Antonia Soulez (Paris)
Sebastian Sunday Grève (Beijing)
Martin Stokhof (Amsterdam)
Sonja Tanner (Colorado)
Denis Walter (Bonn)
Marie-Elise Zovko (Zagreb)

Deadline for submission of contributed papers (to section 1-6): March 15 2020
(Instructions for authors:
Students and early career researchers are especially encouraged to submit a presentation.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)