CFP: Twelfth French PhilMath Workshop (FPMW 12)

Submission deadline: September 15, 2020

Conference date(s):
November 5, 2020 - November 7, 2020

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Archives Henri-Poincaré, University of Lorraine, France
Nancy, France

Topic areas


This workshop is the twelfth in an annual series of workshops in philosophy of mathematics organized by a team of scholars from France and abroad. The program of all previous editions of the workshop is available at:  As in past years, the forthcoming workshop, held at the University of Lorraine, will consist in a three-day meeting and will feature 5 invited as well as 5 contributed talks.

The confirmed invited speakers are:

- Sébastien Gandon (Université Clermont-Ferrand)

- Mirja Hartimo (University of Tampere)

- Thomas Hausberger (Université de Montpellier)

- Kenneth Manders (University of Pittsburgh)

-Bertrand Remy (CNRS et Ecole Polytechnique)

Concerning the five contributed talks, submissions of papers in any topic of philosophy of mathematics broadly construed are welcome.

Deadline for submission: September 15th, 2020

Notification of acceptance (by email): October 1st, 2020

Each talk should be no longer than 45 minutes, and will be followed by a 30 minute discussion. The languages of the workshop are French and English.

Each submission should be no more than 15,000 characters, anonymised and formatted in Word, RTF or PDF. It should be sent as an attachment to an email (please mention “fpmw12” in the body of the message), to the following address: 
fpmw12 (at) sciencesconf (dot) org

Younger scholars and graduate students working on their dissertations are encouraged to submit, as the workshop will provide them with an opportunity to discuss their work with internationally renowned experts in the field. 

The conference is organized by the University of Lorraine, and supported by the Archives Henri-Poincaré and the GDR “Philosophie des mathématiques” and the project ANR/DFG “FFIUM” (Formalism, Formalization, Intuition and Understanding in Mathematics).

Scientific committee: Julien Bernard, Paola Cantù, Emmylou Haffner, Brice Halimi, Jean-Baptiste Joinet, Jean-Pierre Marquis, Sébastien Maronne, Marco Panza, Frédéric Patras, Jean-Jacques Szczeciniarz.

Organizing committee: Gerhard Heinzmann, Baptiste Melès, Valeria Giardino, Andrew Arana.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)