Teaching Environmental Philosophy: Engaged and Inclusive Pedagogies
Chris Cuomo (University of Georgia), Benjamin Hole (University of Washington, Pacific University), Clair Morrissey (Occidental College), Rebeka Ferreira (Green River College), Chris Cuomo (University of Georgia), Benjamin Hole (University of Washington, Pacific University), Clair Morrissey (Occidental College)

November 6, 2020, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Department of Philosophy, Colorado College

14 E. Cache La Poudre St.
Colorado Springs
United States

Sponsor(s):

  • International Society for Environmental Ethics

Organisers:

Harvard University
Colorado College

Topic areas

Details

The International Society for Environmental Ethics (ISEE) Mentoring Initiative is pleased to announce that our first webinar, Teaching Environmental Philosophy: Engaged and Inclusive Pedagogies, will be held on Friday, November 6 from 4-5 pm PT/5-6 pm MT/6-7 pm CT/7-8 pm ET.  The webinar, which features Chris Cuomo (University of Georgia), Rebeka Ferreira (Green River College), Ben Hole (Pacific University), and Clair Morrissey (Occidental College), will offer both new and experienced faculty the opportunity to explore engaged and inclusive teaching approaches in environmental philosophy.  The discussion will address stand-alone courses in environmental ethics and environmental philosophy, as well as ideas for integrating environmental dimensions into other courses, such as political philosophy, philosophy of science, aesthetics, and epistemology. The event will include a short presentation by each panelist, followed by Q&A and general discussion.  After the webinar, participants are invited to an informal social gathering in Spatial Chat.  Both the webinar and gathering are free and open to all, but participants are asked to register in advance, here:  

https://coloradocollege.zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMscuqhrzIrG9UzK9OLTPQewjmDatG4txaw 

Meeting connection information will be provided by email upon registration. Any questions about the webinar can be directed to ISEE Mentoring Director Simona Capisani (scapisani@fas.harvard.edu) or ISEE Vice President Marion Hourdequin (mhourdequin@coloradocollege.edu).

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)

Reminders

Registration

Yes

November 6, 2020, 4:00pm MST

External Site

Who is attending?

1 person is attending:

University of Alabama, Birmingham

See all

Will you attend this event?


Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.

RSVPing on PhilEvents is not sufficient to register for this event.