Harm and Abortion
Jens Johansson (Uppsala University), Karl Ekendahl, Jens Johansson (Uppsala University)

January 6, 2021, 9:00am - 11:00am

This event is online

Organisers:

Tel Aviv University

Topic areas

Details

Time: 07:00 (EST) / 12:00 (UK) / 14:00 (Isr) / 20:00 (China)

Please e-mail David Kovacs (the organizer) to receive the Zoom link for this event.

Abstract: A central claim in abortion ethics is the claim that abortion harms the fetus. Most notably, this claim is one of the main components of Don Marquis’s influential argument against the moral permissibility of abortion, the “future-like-ours” argument. In this paper, we suggest a simple and straightforward reason to reject this claim. Rather than invoking controversial assumptions about personal identity, or some nonstandard account of harm, as many other writers have done, we will suggest that the aborted fetus cannot be harmed for the simple reason that it does not occupy a well-being level.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)

Reminders

Registration

Yes

January 5, 2021, 7:00pm IST

Who is attending?

2 people are attending:

(unaffiliated)
(unaffiliated)

1 person may be attending:

Institute of Philosophy and Psychology “Constantin Rădulescu-Motru” of The Romanian Academy

See all

Will you attend this event?


Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.

RSVPing on PhilEvents is not sufficient to register for this event.