CFP: Zagreb Applied Ethics Conference 2021: Harm, Intentions and Responsibility

Submission deadline: May 31, 2021

Conference date(s):
September 29, 2021 - September 30, 2021

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb, Croatia
Zagreb, Croatia

Topic areas


The Society for the Advancement of Philosophy ( and the Institute of Philosophy – Zagreb ( are organizing the ZAGREB APPLIED ETHICS CONFERENCE 2021 (ZAEC 2021). As always, the aim of the conference is to gather philosophers and other scholars mainly from Central and Southeastern Europe who will present papers on various topics in contemporary applied ethics, ranging from particular case studies to more general (foundational and methodological) considerations. In keeping with the intention to promote rational and critical approach to, and public understanding of, the work in applied ethics, we encourage clearly structured submissions adhering to the principles of conceptual rigor, soundness of argumentation and scientific accuracy.

As the title of this year’s conference indicates, contributions are expected to address notions of harm, intention and responsibility. We have the pleasure to announce that the plenary lecture at the conference will be given by Professor Helen Frowe (Stockholm University).

We invite you to participate in the conference with a paper presentation no longer than 20 minutes (each presentation will be followed by 10 minutes discussion). If you wish to participate, please fill in the attached Application Form and send it to [email protected] no later than 1 June 2021. Notifications of acceptance will be sent to authors by 15 June 2021. The official language of the conference is English.

The conference is planned to be an in-person event, but it might be converted to a virtual event if the epidemiological situation does not improve by then.

We are looking forward to your applications!


Matej Sušnik, President (Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb), Karolina Kudlek, Secretary (Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb), Tomislav Bracanović (Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb), Ana Grgić (Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb), Tvrtko Jolić (Institute of Philosophy, Zagreb), Marko Jurjako (University of Rijeka), Friderik Klampfer (University of Maribor), and Riccardo Maria Spotorno (University Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona).

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)