CFP: International Workshop on the Epistemology of Modality

Submission deadline: February 28, 2013

Conference date(s):
August 29, 2013 - August 31, 2013

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Faculty of Letters, Universidade de Lisboa
Lisbon, Portugal

Topic areas


Van Inwagen once wrote (in his influential paper ‘Modal epistemology’ from 1998) that “modal epistemology is a subject about which little is known”. Today, the discipline has flourished. A lot has been written since then and research on the topic continues to be the focus of a large community of philosophers. We certainly know more today about the topic than we did in 1998, but it would be daring to say that our epistemic situation is much better. The discipline has witnessed a Rationalist Renaissance and is now witnessing what might end up being an anti-rationalist turn. 

This workshop aims to provide a forum for discussion and to reflect, via the contributed talks and informal discussions, the state of art of the discipline.

Call for Abstracts

We invite submissions of long abstracts (1000-2000 words) on any aspect in the epistemology of modality. The time slot is 90 minutes distributed thus: 50’ talk + 40’ discussion. For refereeing purposes, abstracts should contain a clear statement of the thesis that will be defended in the talk as well as of the argumentative strategy. They should be prepared for blind-refereeing. We aim at accepting 5 abstracts.

Submission Procedure: Please send your abstract to [email protected] as an attachment (.pdf preferred).

The subject of the e-mail should contain the word ‘submission’.

The body of the email should include your name, affiliation, abstract title, and the email address you want us to use to communicate with you.

Deadline for submissions: 28th February 2013.

Notification of acceptance/non-acceptance: 28th May 2013.  

Scientific Committee:

João Branquinho (Universidade de Lisboa); David Chalmers (Australian National University; New York University); Bob Hale (University of Sheffield; Northern Institute of Philosophy at Aberdeen; King’s College London); Sonia Roca-Royes (University of Stirling); Daniele Sgaravatti (Università dell'Aquila); and Anand Vaidya (San José State University).


There are no registration fees, but registration will be required. Details on how to register will follow in due course, before registration opens on the 1st of June 2013.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)