Panel 3: Eugenics, Technologies, and Disposable People
Jane Carey, Robert Sparrow (Monash University), Robert A. Wilson (University of Western Australia), Robert Sparrow (Monash University, Monash University), Robert A. Wilson (La Trobe University)

part of: Eugenic thinking in Australasia: An Anti-Eugenics Centennial
September 14, 2021, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Go to conference's page

This event is online

Sponsor(s):

  • University of Western Australia

Organisers:

(unaffiliated)
University of Western Australia

Details

Register for Zoom link: [email protected]

Eugenics is often thought of as a social movement ending around 1945 with the end of the Second World War. Whether or not one accepts this view of eugenics, eugenic thinking has a reach into contemporary thinking and public policy. Eugenic thinking is the confluence of a goal with a way of achieving that goal. The goal is intergenerational human improvement, increasing the balance of desirable over undesirable traits in human populations across generations. The means is the use of science, technology, and social policy in identifying such traits and in promoting improved future generations.

Despite the mantra of human improvement, eugenics often normalised the dehumanization and disposability of those with less desirable traits: those deemed “unfit”. Practices, institutions, and policies such as segregation, marriage restriction laws, compulsory sterilisation, immigration restriction laws, are part of the recognised eugenic past in many countries. Child removal practices, residential schools, and some uses of reproductive technologies both to select embryos with desired traits and to terminate fetuses with undesirable traits have been claimed to manifest eugenic thinking.

In this series of two-hour, online panels, we explore eugenic thinking in Australasia, both past and present. One panel will focus on immigration, borders, children, and citizenship; another on Indigenous Australasia; and a third on eugenics thinking across academic disciplines, such as philosophy, history, archaeology, law, or artistic performance.

This panel series is organised in coordination with Benedict Ipgrave and Milton Reynolds as part of the From Small Beginnings initiative, leading into the global anti-centennial commemoration of the Second International Congress on Eugenics during September 2021.

Programme:

Start times for all events: 10am Perth / 12 noon Melbourne / 3pm Auckland/ 7pm San Francisco / 8pm Edmonton / 9pm Chicago / 10pm Toronto / 3am UK time

Duration of panels: 2 hours

Panel 1: Eugenics and Indigenous Australasia

Friday 3rd September 2021, in Australasia / Thursday, 2nd September, 2021, in North America/UK

Panelists: Joanne Faulkner (Macquarie), Peter Read (ANU), Lynette Russell (Monash)

Chair: Jane Lydon (UWA)

Panel 2: Eugenics: Immigration, Borders, Children, Citizens

Friday, 10th September, 2021, in Australasia

Thursday, 9th September, 2021 in North America/UK

Panelists: Ruth Balint (UNSW), Tim Calabria (La Trobe), Luara Ferracioli (Sydney), Matthew Lister (Deakin)

Chair: Rob Wilson (UWA)

-

Panel 3: Eugenics, Technologies, and Disposable People

Tuesday, 14th September, 2021, in Australasia

Monday, 13th September, 2021, in North America/UK

Panelists: Jane Carey (Wollongong), Rob Sparrow (Monash); Rob Wilson (UWA)

Chair: TBA

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)

Reminders

Registration

No

Who is attending?

No one has said they will attend yet.

Will you attend this event?


Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.