CFP: 29th SIUCC (Inter‐University Workshop on Philosophy and Cognitive Science)

Submission deadline: January 24, 2022

Conference date(s):
June 1, 2022 - June 3, 2022

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Department of Philosophy, University of Barcelona
Barcelona, Spain

Topic areas


The Spanish Society for Analytic Philosophy (SEFA), in collaboration with the Society for Women in Philosophy-Analytic Spain (SWIP-A-Spain), invites submissions for the 29th edition of the SIUCC (Seminario Interuniversitario de Ciencia Cognitiva/Inter‐University Workshop on Philosophy and Cognitive Science) to be held in Barcelona between June 1st and June 3rd, 2022 (whether in situ or online will depend on COVID-restrictions for travel). This edition of the SIUCC is focused on Susanna Siegel’s work.

Susanna Siegel is Edgar Pierce Professor of Philosophy at Harvard University. She works on topics in the philosophy of mind and epistemology. Her research focuses mainly on perception. It draws on both philosophy and the sciences of the mind. She has written about what kinds of things we can perceive; how our perceptions can be influenced by what we already know, suspect, or fear; and the relationships between perception and culture, memory, knowledge, concepts, and language. She has published two very influential books: The Contents of Visual Experience (2010) and The Rationality of Perception (2017) (OUP). Professor Siegel is also interested in political philosophy. 

The SIUCC annual conferences are three‐day workshops organized under the auspices of the SEFA ( since the creation of the society in 1994. Invited speakers are asked to present three papers, which can be new material or a revision of former work. The seminar intends to trigger discussion and debate through the presentation of 9‐12 contributions related to any of the philosophical topics of the invited speakers’ work.

Recent workshops and keynote speakers have been: XXVIII, Granada: Amie Thomasson; XXVII, Vitoria: Elisabeth Camp; XXVI, Madrid: David Velleman; XXV, Valencia: Tim Williamson; XXIV, Valladolid: Jason Stanley; XXIII, Sevilla: Jennifer Hornsby; XXII, San Sebastián: Jesse Prinz; XXI, Granada: Jaakko Hintikka; XX, Barcelona: Crispin Wright; XIX, Zaragoza: Ernest Sosa; XVIII, Madrid: John Perry.

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE: Marta Jorba (UPF), Josefa Toribio (ICREA-UB), Agustín Vicente (UPV/EHU)

CALL FOR CONTRIBUTIONS: The Organizing Committee invites contributions on topics related to Professor Siegel’s work. Extended drafts (not less than 2000 words) should be sent to Josefa Toribio (jtoribio at ub dot edu) before January 24th, 2022. Authors of accepted papers will be notified before March 1st, 2022.

For more information, please contact Josefa Toribio (jtoribio at ub dot edu).

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)