CFP: Special Issue - NEW CURRENTS IN NEUROAESTHETICS - Journal of Comparative Literature and Aesthetics

Submission deadline: December 31, 2022

Topic areas



Journal of Comparative Literature and Aesthetics

Special Issue - New Currents in Neuroaesthetics

The Journal of Comparative Literature and Aesthetics welcomes papers for its forthcoming special issue "New Currents in Neuroaesthetics."

Important dates:

Submission deadline: 31 December 2022

Decision of acceptance: 15 January 2023

Publication of the issue: March-April 2023 (Vol. 46, No. 2, Summer 2023)

Email for sending papers (or queries): [email protected]

Submission Guidelines:

Submissions must be properly typed out in MS Word (Times New Roman, 12 Font), not exceeding 8,000 words and not below 5,000, complete with an abstract of 100 words alongside 4 or 5 keywords, incorporated within the essay itself.  All essays shall be peer-reviewed (refereed) and those abounding in solecisms, catachresis, or insufficiently argued shall be returned unread. ‘Works Cited’ and 'Notes' must preferably follow the MLA 8th convention without exception.

Each essay submitted must carry a declaration that it has not been published or submitted for publication elsewhere. The least suspicion of plagiarism will result in an outright rejection of the article.

The cover letter should include a brief author’s bio with no revelation of the author’s identity in the paper itself. An acknowledgement shall be sent upon receipt. A further communication shall be made only after the editor(s) considers the paper worthy of publication.

Revisions must be returned in two weeks without further delay. The author is implored to wait at least two months before withdrawing his article, in case no communication has been made. Simultaneous submissions are not allowed.





The Journal of Comparative Literature and Aesthetics (ISSN 0252-8169) is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Vishvanatha Kaviraja Institute, India since 1977. Vishvanatha Kaviraja, most widely known for his masterpiece in aesthetics, Sahityadarpana or the Mirror of Composition, was a prolific 14th-century Indian poet, scholar, and rhetorician. The Institute was founded by Prof. Ananta Charan Sukla (1942-2020) on 22 August 1977, coinciding with the birth centenary of renowned philosopher, aesthetician, and art historian, Ananda K. Coomaraswamy (1877-1947), to promote interdisciplinary studies and research in comparative literature, cultural theory, aesthetics, philosophy and criticism of the arts, art history, and history of ideas. He edited and published the journal for over 40 years as the founding editor.

The journal is committed to comparative and cross-cultural issues in literary understanding and interpretation, aesthetic theories, and conceptual analysis of art. It also publishes special issues on critical theories of current interest. It has published the finest of essays by authors of global renown like René Wellek, Harold Osborne, John Hospers, John Fisher, Murray Krieger, Martin Bucco, Remo Ceserani, J B Vickery, Menachem Brinker, Milton Snoeyenbos, Mary Wiseman, Ronald Roblin, T R Martland, S C Sengupta, K R S Iyengar, V K Chari, S K Saxena, Gordon Epperson, Judith Lochhead, Charles Altieri, Martin Jay, Jonathan Culler, Richard Shusterman, Robert Kraut, T J Diffey, T R Quigley, R B Palmer, Keith Keating, and others. Some of these celebrated essays have been published by Routledge (London & New York) in book format.

The journal is indexed and abstracted in the MLA International Bibliography, Master List of Periodicals (USA), Ulrich’s Directory of Periodicals, ERIH PLUS, The Philosopher’s Index, CNKI, WorldCat Directory, PhilPapers, EBSCO, ProQuest, Literature Online, Gale (Cengage), ACLA, Academic Resource Index, United States Library of Congress, and the British Library. It is also indexed in numerous university (central) libraries, state and public libraries, and scholarly organizations/ learned societies databases.

Celebrated scholars of the time like René Wellek, Harold Osborne, Mircea Eliade, Monroe Beardsley, John Hospers, John Fisher, M H Abrams, John Boulton, and many Indian and Western scholars had been members of its Editorial Board.

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)


Custom tags:

#philosophy, aesthetics, neuroaesthetics