CFP: SMS 2023: Society for the Metaphysics of Science 2023 Conference

Submission deadline: March 10, 2023

Conference date(s):
August 10, 2023 - August 12, 2023

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Dalhousie University
Halifax, Canada

Topic areas


For further details please see our conference webpage:

The Society for the Metaphysics of Science (SMS) will be hosting its 8th Annual Conference on 10-12 August 2023 at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Our keynote speaker will be Quayshawn Spencer (Penn).

In addition, Nina Emery (Mount Holyoke)will deliver the Presidential Address.

All other sessions will comprise submitted papers. Presentations will be 30 minutes, with 10 minutes reserved for a commentator, a 5 min reply from the speaker, and 15 minutes for Q&A. Submissions should be on a topic in the metaphysics of science broadly construed, of no more than 4,500 words and should include an abstract of 100-150 words and a word count. All papers must employ gender-neutral language and be prepared for anonymous review.

Please send your paper including title and abstract as a PDF document to [email protected](with your name, affiliation and the title of the paper in the body of the email and ‘Abstract Submission’ in the subject line).

The submission deadline has been extended to 10 March 2023 (11:59pm PST). Notifications of acceptance will be delivered by 1 May. Selected speakers should confirm their participation by 1 June.

As well as various presentations, the conference will also feature an organizational meeting of the Society which will elect officers, continue to make various policies, plan future conferences, etc. Both those interested in presenting papers and/or participating in the Society are invited to the conference.

In addition, the SMS will host a two-day summer school on 8-9 August at Dalhousie. It will consist of four three-hour workshops, each of which is designed to introduce the (approximately 20) participants to the state of play in a subdiscipline within the metaphysics of science. We are pleased to announce that Alyssa Ney (UC Davis)and Robin Hendry (Durham)have signed on to lead the workshop. Details will be announced in February.

Program committee

Chair: Sam Baron (Australian Catholic University)

Claudio Calosi (University of Geneva)

Karen Crowther (University of Oslo)

Finnur Dellsén (University of Iceland)

Heather Demarest (University of Colorado, Boulder)

Nick Huggett (University of Illinois, Chicago)

Baptiste Le Bihan (University of Geneva)

Kate Lynch (University of Sydney)

Kristie Miller (University of Sydney)

James Norton (University of Iceland)

James Read (University of Oxford)

Katie Robertson (University of Birmingham)

Jessica Wilson (University of Toronto)

Local organizing

Tyler Hildebrand (Dalhousie)

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)