Monthly Phenomenology, New Season (2023–2024)

October 27, 2023 - May 24, 2024

This event is online

Topic areas

Talks at this conference

Add a talk

Details

We are very pleased to announce the new season (2023–2024) of:    

MONTHLY PHENOMENOLOGY
An online forum of discussion on recent work in phenomenology  

Description: This series of talks gathers together scholars interested in phenomenology and its relation to contemporary issues in philosophy, especially in the philosophy of mind. It establishes a forum of discussion where people can meet on a regular basis and present their work-in-progress or recent publications. The topics addressed will stretch from the history of early phenomenology to the systematic application of phenomenological insights in recent debates in analytic philosophy.  

Schedule: The talks will take place once a month on a Friday from October to May. Time: 10:15am ET, 3:15pm GMT/GMT+1, 4:15pm CET. (Exceptions are the talks of February and March, which will take place at 7:15am ET, 12:15pm GMT, 1:15pm CET.) Talks last 90 minutes, including a 45 minutes Q&A.  

Participation: Talks are held on zoom. To participate, please send an email to [email protected] with the heading "Registration Monthly Phenomenology". A zoom link will be sent to you the day preceding each talk.    


Programme:  

Robin Muller (California State University, Northridge)
Critical Phenomenology and Phenomenological Critique: Ambiguities in the Legacy of Merleau-Ponty
27 October 2023

Bruno Langlet (University of Bordeaux)
On the Controversial Status of Meinongian Assumptions
24 November 2023  

Moritz von Kalckreuth (University of Wuppertal)
Connecting Value, Culture and History – The Approach of Nicolai Hartmann
15 December 2023  

W. Clark Wolf (Marquette University)
In Defense of Pure Concepts
19 January 2024  

Takuya Niikawa (Kobe University)
Atmosphere and Mood
23 February 2024  

Kengo Miyazono (Hokkaido University)
Dissociations between Sensory and Presentational Phenomenology
8 March 2024  

Marie Guillot (University of Essex)
Phenomenal Concepts of Time, Space and Self
5 April 2024  

Elisa Magrì (Boston College)
TBA 
24 May 2024


Convenors:
Guillaume Fréchette (University of Geneva)
Marta Jorba (Pompeu Fabra University)
Alessandro Salice (University College Cork)
Hamid Taieb (Humboldt University Berlin)
Íngrid Vendrell-Ferran (Philipps University Marburg)  

Organized on behalf of the Network for Phenomenological Research

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)

Reminders

Registration

No

Who is attending?

No one has said they will attend yet.

Will you attend this event?


Let us know so we can notify you of any change of plan.