CFP: "Representationalism and psychopathology." Special Session on Philosophy of Psychiatry

Submission deadline: June 20, 2019

Conference date(s):
October 24, 2019 - October 26, 2019

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

Faculty of Arts and Humanities, University of Porto, Mind, Language and Action Group, Institute of Philosophy
Porto, Portugal

Topic areas


Special Symposium on Philosophy of Psychiatry

Possible topics include (but are not limited to):

What kind of psychopathologies can be explained in an antirepresentational way?

What are representational explanations of mental disorders?

Antirepresentational approaches to psychiatry within the 4E paradigm

Is representationalism compatible with phenomenological psychiatry?

Antirepresentational and representational predictive processing/predictive coding models of mental disorders

Is there an integrative (both representational and antirepresentational) explanation of psychopathologies possible?

Keynote speakers of the conference: Mieke Boon (University of Twente), Sabina Leonelli (University of Exeter), Uskali Mäki (University of Helsinki), Dafne Muntanyola-Saura (Autonomous University of Barcelona), Nico Orlandi (University of California at Santa Cruz), Paul Thagard (University of Waterloo), Charles Travis (University of Porto)


Mind, Language and Action Group / Institute of Philosophy / Faculty of Arts and Humanities of University of Porto (Local organizer)

The Institute of Philosophy and Sociology / Polish Academy of Sciences (Co-organizer)

Institute of Philosophy / Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University (Co-organizer)

Avant Project / Centre for Philosophical Research (Main organizer of the conference series)

Organizing Committee:

Sofia Miguens (University of Porto) – Chair of the Organizing Committee, Marcin Miłkowski (Polish Academy of Sciences) – Chair of the Organizing Committee of the Conference Series, Krystyna Bielecka (University of Warsaw), Anna Ciaunica (University of Porto), Luca Corti (University of Porto), Aleksandra Derra (Nicolaus Copernicus University), Klara Łucznik (University of Plymouth), Przemysław Nowakowski (Polish Academy of Sciences), Michał Piekarski (Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University), Filip Stawski (Avant Project), Manela Teles (University of Porto), Georg Theiner (Villanova University) , Marcin Trybulec (Maria Curie-Sklodowska University), Witold Wachowski (Polish Academy of Sciences) – Conference Coordinator

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)