CFP: The Reach of Radical Embodied or Enactive Cognition (REC)

Submission deadline: February 16, 2013

Conference date(s):
June 17, 2013 - June 19, 2013

Go to the conference's page

Conference Venue:

University of Antwerp
Antwerpen, Belgium

Topic areas


Many forms of cognition can and should be understood without invoking content-involving representations. That is the claim of Radical Embodied or Enactive Cognitive Science (REC).  REC offers a serious challenge to the representational/computational status quo in cognitive science.

This conference explores if its radical claim can be argumentatively supported and challenged, and whether it must be toned down. It examines whether REC might be true of basic cognition, including perception. But it also considers whether and how it might be extended so as to accommodate forms of cognition traditionally conceived as totally out of its reach, such as offline or symbolic cognition. It asks to what extent and how REC will bring changes of practice and method in cognitive science and beyond.  

In addition to twelve invited presentations, the conference will solicit an equal number of contributed talks. Proposals are requested in the form of an abstract in the range of 250-500 words, prepared for blind refereeing. Please send your abstract to [email protected], before February 16, with as subject line: “Reach of REC.”

Confirmed invited contributors

Louise Barrett (University of Lethbridge)

Anthony Chemero (University of Cincinnati)

Catarina Dutilh-Novaes (Rijksuniversiteit Groningen)

Daniel Hutto (University of Hertfordshire)

Richard Menary (Macquarie University)

William Ramsey (University of Nevada)

Zuzanna Rucinska (University of Hertfordshire)

Pierre Steiner (University of Compiègne)

John Sutton (Macquarie University)

Dave Ward (University of Edinburgh)

Mike Wheeler (University of Stirling) 

Conference committee

Stefaan Cuypers, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Shaun Gallagher, University of Memphis

Daniel Hutto, University of Herfordshire

Erik Myin, Universiteit Antwerpen

Marc Slors, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen

Jean Paul Van Bendegem, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Bart Van Kerkhove, Universiteit Hasselt

Erik Weber, Universiteit Gent

Michael Wheeler, University of Stirling

Supporting material

Add supporting material (slides, programs, etc.)